Community Fibre and Hyperoptic are London's two big independent full fibre networks, and in some buildings you can get either. Both build and own their fibre, both sell the same speed up and down, and neither sells TV. The differences are in price and set-up, contract options, the size of the annual rise, and what each promises when something goes wrong.
How do Community Fibre and Hyperoptic compare at a glance?
The table takes prices, speeds, contract lengths, set-up fees and scheduled price rises from our live deal feed, so it matches the deals on our comparison pages today. The network, guarantee and exit-fee rows come from each provider's own terms, checked on 11 October 2026.
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Network | Its own full fibre network, almost all of it in London. Community Fibre Limited, an independent provider. | Its own full fibre, mostly in apartment blocks in larger cities. Hyperoptic Ltd, backed by KKR. |
| Broadband-only from | £14 a month for 100Mbps on 24 months | £26 a month for the first 7 months, then £30 for 158Mbps on 24 months |
| Fastest tier | 5Gbps for £63 a month | 900Mbps for £29 a month for the first 7 months, then £33 |
| Upload on the fastest tier | 5Gbps, the same as the download speed | 900Mbps, the same as the download speed |
| Contract lengths | 12, 18 and 24 months | 12 and 24 months |
| Set-up | £0 | £19 |
| Mid-contract price rises | 18 of 18 deals: up £3 a month from April 2027.Set out per plan in its offer terms, for example "£15 per month, £18 per month from April 2027, £21 per month from April 2028"; £4 more at the end of the term, then £3 each April. | 6 of 6 deals: up £4 a month from April 2027.£4 a month each April, set out per plan on its site; "Fair, transparent pricing: With us, you know what you're paying. A deal's a deal". |
| Right to exit on a rise | No. Its terms give a right to cancel only for increases "outside of the contractual annual price increase" | Not stated. The rise is set out in the contract, so Ofcom's rules give no penalty-free exit |
| Rewards | None in our feed | None in our feed |
| TV and landline | No TV bundles and no landline bundles in our feed.Sells a Calls internet phone line as an add-on; no TV. | No TV bundles and no landline bundles in our feed.Hyperoptic Phone add-on with free evening and weekend UK landline calls; no TV. |
| Speed guarantee | Not a Speeds Code signatory. Advertised speeds are for a wired connection to its router; a 30-day satisfaction guarantee lets you leave with no cancellation fee | Not a Speeds Code signatory; no published minimum speed promise found. A 30-day price match guarantee where available |
| Ofcom complaints, January to March 2026 | Not reported by Ofcom for providers of this size | Not reported by Ofcom for providers of this size |
| Leaving early | Monthly price times the months left, times 90%; its own example is £25 a month with four months left, so £90. 30 days' notice. Estimate yours | The remaining amounts due "minus any costs we save from no longer having to provide you with our service and from receiving your payment early"; its example is £22 a month with six months left, so £126. Rolling packages: nothing. |
| Social tariff | Essentials, open to anyone; see our social tariff guide for current terms | Fair Fibre Plan, for low-income households; see our social tariff guide |
| Trustpilot | 4.7 out of 5 from 95,133 reviews, checked 11 September 2026. See the reviews | 4.6 out of 5 from 57,096 reviews, checked 11 September 2026. See the reviews |
| Deals | See Community Fibre dealsCheck them at your postcode | See Hyperoptic dealsCheck them at your postcode |
Live rows show the deals in our feed at the last refresh, not every plan a provider sells, and TV-only packages are left out. Trustpilot scores come from customers who chose to review, and providers differ in how many customers they invite to, so read them alongside Ofcom's complaints figure, which is the independent measure.
Is Hyperoptic cheaper than Community Fibre?
Not in our feed. When we checked on 11 October 2026, Community Fibre's 1Gbps deal was £20 a month on 24 months with no set-up fee, rising to £23 in April 2027 and £26 in April 2028. Hyperoptic's 1Gb deal on 24 months was £29 a month for the first seven months and £33 after that, with rises to £37 in May 2027 and £41 in April 2028, plus £19 set-up.
Community Fibre is cheaper at every stage: £20, then £23 and £26 after each April rise, against Hyperoptic's £29 and £33, then £37 and £41 after its rises, plus set-up. At the entry level the gap is similar: Community Fibre's 100Mbps deal was £14 a month, while Hyperoptic's 150Mb deal was £26 for seven months and then £30. Community Fibre also sells 2Gbps and 5Gbps tiers, at £25 and £63 a month when we checked, where Hyperoptic's range stops at 1Gb.
Both providers' prices are online offers and they change, so read the live table rather than either headline.
How do speed and reliability compare?
| Provider | Down | Up | Price today |
|---|---|---|---|
| 75Mbps | 75Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £20a month | |
| 100Mbps | 100Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £14a month | |
| 150Mbps | 150Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £15a month | |
| 158Mbps | 158Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £26 for 7 months, then £30a month | |
| 300Mbps | 300Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £21a month | |
| 350Mbps | 350Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £24a month | |
| 500Mbps | 500Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £16a month | |
| 527Mbps | 527Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £31 for 7 months, then £35a month | |
| 900Mbps | 900Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £29 for 7 months, then £33a month | |
| 920Mbps | 920Mbpsboth wayssame both ways | £29a month | |
| 1Gbps | 1Gbpsboth wayssame both ways | £20a month | |
| 2Gbps | 2Gbpsboth wayssame both ways | £25a month | |
| 5Gbps | 5Gbpsboth wayssame both ways | £63a month |
Speeds are the averages each provider advertises, as carried in our feed; the speed at your address depends on the line. Prices are today’s offer prices on Switchity and can rise mid-contract where the deal says so.
Both networks are full fibre to the home, and every deal from either is symmetric, so a 1Gbps plan uploads at 1Gbps too, with Community Fibre's range going further at the top. One caveat from Hyperoptic's own site: "Depending on your location, you can upload as fast as you download on our 150Mb, 500Mb & 1Gb packages", so symmetric speed isn't guaranteed in every building. Community Fibre's installation page says its advertised speeds are for a wired connection into its router.
Neither is a signatory to Ofcom's Broadband Speeds Code, so neither gives you a personalised minimum speed with a right to exit under that code. Hyperoptic does belong to Ofcom's automatic compensation scheme, and its own policy publishes the rates: £6.24 a day for a delayed start, £9.98 a day for a delayed repair and £31.19 for a missed appointment. We found no reference to the scheme in Community Fibre's terms. If a repair drags on, Hyperoptic pays by the day and Community Fibre has no published equivalent.
Can the price go up during the contract?
Yes with both, and both set the amount out up front. Every Community Fibre deal in our feed rises by £3 each April from 2027. Its offer terms set it out plan by plan, for example "£15 per month, £18 per month from April 2027, £21 per month from April 2028" on the 150Mbps 24-month deal. Once the minimum term ends the price goes up by £4, then by £3 each April after that.
Hyperoptic's rise is £4 a month each April, set out per plan on its site, and its Fair Fibre Framework page puts it this way: "Fair, transparent pricing: With us, you know what you're paying. A deal's a deal." Neither rise comes with a way out. Community Fibre's terms give a right to cancel only for increases "outside of the contractual annual price increase", and because both providers state the rises in pounds in the contract, Ofcom's rules don't give you a penalty-free exit. Our price rise guide explains the rules.
What about contract length and getting set up?
Community Fibre sells 12, 18 and 24-month deals in our feed, and the shorter the term the higher the monthly price. Hyperoptic sells 12 and 24-month deals in our feed, and its site also offers rolling monthly contracts, which Hyperoptic announced in 2026 "from £29/month with £0 activation". Its Fair Fibre Framework page describes it as "Sign up for 24 months, a year, or, depending on location, roll monthly".
Set-up is where they part. Community Fibre charges nothing, and its installation page says the engineer visit "usually takes up to two hours" and runs Monday to Saturday. Hyperoptic's deals in our feed carry a £19 set-up fee. Both offer a change of heart: Community Fibre's homepage says "If within 30 days, you're not happy with your super-fast full fibre broadband, you can leave with no cancellation fees", and Hyperoptic gives you "30 days to decide". Hyperoptic also offers a price match: "Depending on your location, if you find the same package for less elsewhere, we'll match it".
Who pays your exit fee?
Hyperoptic's switching page offers up to £300 in bill credit towards your old provider's exit fee, applied over time rather than as a lump sum, on a 24-month term for its 150Mb to 1Gb packages. Community Fibre's deals in our feed carry no reward or buy-out. If you're mid-contract elsewhere, that credit can outweigh the price gap for the first year.
What about a landline?
Neither sells TV in our feed, and neither includes a phone line, but both sell one as an add-on. Community Fibre's Calls service is an internet phone line with no copper, and its switching page says you can keep your number, with the transfer taking at least 12 working days after installation. Hyperoptic's price guide describes Hyperoptic Phone, which "includes free evening and weekend UK landline calls". If you need a landline number kept, ask either provider about porting before you order.
How do their service records compare?
Ofcom does not report complaints for providers of either company's size, so there is no Ofcom figure for this pair. Both appear in the Trustpilot row of the table above, with the caveat that sits under it. Our complaints rankings guide explains why the smaller providers are missing from Ofcom's tables.
What does it cost to leave early?
Community Fibre publishes a simple rule. Its terms multiply your monthly price by the months remaining and then by 90%, "to reflect costs we save by no longer providing you service". Its own example: £25 a month with four months left is (£25 x 4) x 90%, or £90. You also give 30 days' notice.
Hyperoptic's charges guide, in force from 9 July 2026, works from "the remaining amounts you were due to pay until the end of your minimum commitment period". It then deducts "any costs we save from no longer having to provide you with our service and from receiving your payment early". Its worked example is £22 a month with six months left, which comes to £126 after VAT is taken off and added back. Rolling monthly packages have no termination fee at all. Community Fibre's rule is built into our exit fee calculator; Hyperoptic's isn't, so use its example above.
Where can you get both?
Community Fibre describes itself as "London's largest 100% full fibre only broadband provider" and says its network "passes more than 1.3 million premises". Its availability page names Wandsworth, Redbridge, Southwark and Tower Hamlets among the boroughs it serves, with Newham, Lambeth and Brent "alongside many other boroughs". Hyperoptic's network is mostly in apartment blocks in larger cities, London among them, and ISPreview put its footprint at around two million homes in July 2026.
Our area pages for London, Wembley and Westminster list both providers. In a block of flats the deciding factor is often which network the freeholder let in, so check both at your postcode before you decide.
Why you might choose Community Fibre
- You want the lower monthly price and no set-up fee, with a £3 rather than a £4 rise each April.
- You want 2Gbps or 5Gbps, which Hyperoptic doesn't sell.
- You'd rather sign for 18 months than 12 or 24.
- You want a simple published exit fee: 90% of the months left.
Why you might choose Hyperoptic
- You want a rolling monthly contract with no exit fee at all.
- You're mid-contract elsewhere and its bill credit of up to £300 would cover your exit fee.
- You want automatic compensation for delays and missed appointments, at published daily rates.
- You want a price match if the same package is cheaper elsewhere.
- Community Fibre isn't in your building and Hyperoptic is.
How do you switch between them?
Because the two networks are separate, a switch means a new connection is installed rather than your existing line changing hands. One Touch Switch applies to both. Community Fibre's switching page says "There's no need for you to contact your current provider, as we handle everything on your behalf", and Hyperoptic's says "Your current broadband service stays active until your new Hyperoptic service is ready". Under Ofcom's rules you shouldn't be without broadband for more than one working day. Our One Touch Switch guide walks through it.
If you're mid-contract, the exit fee above applies to the provider you leave. Hyperoptic's bill credit can cover up to £300 of Community Fibre's fee on a 24-month deal; Community Fibre offers nothing towards Hyperoptic's. Both also list a social tariff, which our social tariff guide covers.
Sources and how we checked
Prices, speeds, contract lengths, set-up fees and scheduled rises come from our live deal feed, checked on 11 October 2026 and refreshed whenever the site updates. The rest comes from the sources below, read on the dates shown.
- Community Fibre, read 10 October 2026: terms and offer terms, about us, availability, switching and installation pages.
- Hyperoptic, read 11 October 2026: homepage, Fair Fibre Framework, Guide to Charges and Fees, automatic compensation policy and switching pages.
- Ofcom: codes of practice for Speeds Code and automatic compensation membership.
- ISPreview: Hyperoptic's network footprint.
We earn a commission if you take a deal through our links. It never affects how we rank or describe providers, as our how we compare page explains.
